Pumpkin Life Cycle Book Study Unit

This unit was created for one week of whole-group guided reading and writing. The theme for the week is pumpkins and the pumpkin lifecycle. The focus reading strategy is a review of all concepts taught thus far in the Guided Reading with a Purpose series. It is a mixture of 3 fiction and 3 non-fiction stories. Students will review main idea and detailscharacters and settingpredictingretellingcomparing and contrastingfact or opinionfact and details, and text connections. There are daily lesson plan ideasanchor chartsliteracy connectionssorting activitiescrafts and writing connections. In addition, you will receive some pumpkin investigating crafts too. It is all you will need and more to introduce, cover, and teach this concept of pumpkins and their lifecycle.

There are also blank templates so you can incorporate this set with any book(s) you choose.


Included in this Pumpkin Life Cycle Book Study Unit:


  • Pumpkins by Gail Gibbons
  • Pumpkin Lifecycle by Megan Mitchell
  • Seed, Sprout, Pumpkin Pie by Esbaum

(fact & details, non-fiction, schema, fact or opinion, compare and contrast )


  • Too Many Pumpkins by Linda White
  • Spookley the Square Pumpkin by Troiano
  • How Many Seeds in a Pumpkin? By McNamara

(characters, retelling, text connections, main idea and details, & predicting)

Word Work:

  • Alphabetizing
  • Syllables
  • Making Words
  • Asking vs. Telling

Pumpkin Lifecycle

  • Mini Book- 2 copies per page
  • Digital Version included as well

3 Science Investigations

  • How many seeds are in a pumpkin?
  • Pumpkin Height
  • Pumpkin Circumference
  • Pumpkin Weight

This is part of a weekly series of units covering different reading strategies throughout the year.  Click here to read more about Guided Reading with a Purpose.

©Megan Mitchell